Training Diary – Day 709

wrc-5miler-header

No #parkrun for me today – due to having entered into the #Warrington5Miler event this morning. (Part 1 of the series) Just the start to the day you would think a runner would love to have – if it wasn’t for the weather/course conditions, cold, wet, muddy, wind chill factor and quite a few puddles to keep you interested.

xk08hxxi

Five of us from our #WidnesRunningClub had entered – #Rob, #Kerry, Alison, #Me & #Jan – but #Jan wasn’t well so couldn’t attend. That left just the four of us on the ‘DarkSide’s Turf for the event. (Felt a little lonely for the pre-run meet, as the others didn’t arrive as early as I did – I send a message out asking for reinforcements – lol!!!

16195897_10154128764106196_2271025107810949919_n

Then it was time for the run briefing – and yes it was as cold as we all look in the above picture – waiting under the bridge for the briefing to finish just made us all much colder too.

The course was quite a good one for the first 2 miles, mainly along the tow-path of the canal and fairly wide enough for us to overtake. #Alison shot off ahead of us, as we started nearer the back of the masses – #Rob, #Kerry & I kept a steady pace for the main of the tow path, until we got blocked a little crossing over a single path bridge. (As this point I increased my pace, thinking the others were following me but they got stuck a little longer.)

After passing #Alison, I reached the turn round marker – where the route changed completely onto the grass – becoming more of a cross-country event for the next 1.5miles or so. The surface was most definitely slippery under foot, easily way too muddy and harder to keep up a steady pace – no matter what route you took, it was all the same issues …. balance, speed & puddles.

16298494_10154899147670883_6889932147163319368_n

The last mile was back onto the pathway/road – with a section of grass in the middle, which enabled us to increase the pace again to a reasonable speed. By now the masses had been strung out along the route and I was beginning to pick off the other runners – although I didn’t check my timings/splits, I knew I had been running a quicker pace than I had expected.

A final few hundred meters sprint was the order of the day to complete the event – feeling strong whilst running but then totally shattered once I had finished. (Think it was the adrenaline kicking in.) All I had to do now was wait and see where the other #WidnesRunners would finish & to take the photos of our group.

I also met a running buddy from the ‘Darkside’ #Stuart and he also had a great run too

16298875_10154128764501196_2438137694172248601_n

The photos taken and a group ‘Congratulations’ to each other and it was time to go and get warm & a change of clothes from the car. I was beginning to cool down and the wind was getting through my running top. When I got to the car – about 1/2 a mile away, I realised that my legs were covered in mud and I looked a right scruff …  meant I had to sit on a dry towel to stop the car getting too dirty.

16265638_10154128768466196_9126475773514740665_n

So once home it was time to reflect on the day’s events; was it worth all the hype; did it meet my expectation and most importantly would I do it again? The answers to these question are simple – Yes, Yes & Yes!!!

I would say that the event was well organised and really enjoyable. As for meeting my expectations – beyond them I would say – simply due to my official time/result. My last 8km/5miler event was about 9months ago, shortly after starting back training from surgery – I managed a time of 52mins, which I was pleased with at the time. So today I set myself a target time of #Sub46mins, as I had been running around that time for the past few weeks.

My official time for the run today was: 43mins 15secs – a New PB of over 9mins from my last 8km/5miles event, but more importantly I was over 2mins45secs ahead of my #sub46mins target time.

16343906_10154129309671196_966528868_n

And YES the medal was quite good too – along with the ‘Goodie Bag’ you get.

All I have to do now is rest, recover and plan for tomorrow’s 10km ‘Bolton Mask’ event in the morning ….  and of course look forward to the ‘GIMMEE’ from that one.

Leave a Reply

