Training Diary – Day 621

An early night, with the clocks going back an hour – made my sleep a little restless for some reason. I woke up several times and didn’t get the proper rest I thought I would. Anyway, up early and sorted my kit out for today’s WPL game.

cover_football-referee

Attended the ground an hour before kick off, as per appointment only to find the changing room facilities to be occupied by a female gym member – having her shower there. She didn’t seem too bothered at the fact she shouldn’t have been using our changing room and most definitely enjoyed her long shower. Eventually, after 35mins, she emerged to say ‘Oh I didn’t realise you needed the room’ ….  My face must have told her a story to the contrary as she soon disappeared quickly.

Anyway the match went ahead as expected and was quite a competitive game to referee –  both teams not giving up easily and trying to win each & every tackle. The game concluded with a convincing victory for the HOME team and the Manager of the AWAY team congratulated us for being the ‘BEST Match Officials’ he had experienced so far this season. (That was very nice of him to take the time & effort to speak to us.)

My #FitBit STEPS for the game was over 15,000+ and I covered a distance of 12.56km running for the majority of the game – with the odd short period of walking during free-kicks.

I enjoyed this game and felt the challenge of multiple short burst sprints, as I ran for positioning during the match – sometimes it was long ball passes and other times it was fast short one-two passes.

Once home I managed to get my Hot Lobster Bath and a 30mins relaxing with a cup of tea, whilst recovering from the efforts today. Next will be an early night before I start my week’s training at the gym & road runs during my half-term week off.

 

Leave a Reply

