Training Diary – Day 613

parkrun-logo

Don’t you just love #ParkRunSaturdays – best day of the weekend. After missing last weekend’s park run because I was involved in the Hell Up North event, today was a pleasure to get back into it.

However, I had a problem of no running buddy this week, as everyone I usually run with had other commitments – work, races, rest days etc …. So I decided that I would volunteer to do some ‘Pacing’ for other runners that wanted one. I was looking for a bit of an easier pace than my normal one today, having worked hard on my previous runs this week – a sort of recovery type of run.

Road-Running-Races-1

After a chat to Charlotte Ryan, who had not ran for over a year, she agreed to have a go at the #WidnesParkRun today – feeling rather apprehensive about it and concerned about getting injured again. We met up and Charlotte brought her Son, Reece, to also have a go of their first ever park run. I explained how the park run was set out and the laps system they use for the course and it was time to set off – Reece shot off like a whippet and Charlotte and I at a much steadier pace. Both worked really hard to complete the 5km course and finished with a flourish at the end – Charlotte even tried to cheat a little bit by ‘Sprinting Off’ ahead of me in the home straight, without any warning!!

For her first run in such a long time I was impressed by her effort and determination today – completing the distance in 39mins 30secs – as massive well done to her and her Son, Reece, who also completed the distance in 38mins 32secs. Hopefully they will get the running bug and come again in the future.

14713594_1112213502208148_2156688991734405094_n

I am going to spend the rest of today looking at plans for next week’s training – distances and route to run for times. Might even look at booking a sports massage for later in the week.

 

 

Leave a Reply

