Training Diary – Day 592

A strange week for my training, but one I didn’t mind missing my sessions. I missed a few days because I am now pleased to say my Identical Twin Grand Sons, formerly known as #Dib & #Dab – now Rory & Alfie, have been born and I am so proud of their parents Zak & Beka. As you could probably appreciate, the emotional draining that has been going on simply made me feel extremely tired – as the babies were about 6 weeks premature. Last time, after a busy week in school too, I managed to have an early night and a good sleep – a solid 9hrs.

parkrun-logo

That enabled me to be up and ready for #ParkRun today and I was just thinking of doing the course at a slow but steady pace. Completing it was more important than the time – clocking up another one for my 50 #ParkRuns Target. Plus today would be my first official #ParkRun as a Widnes Running Club Member and it would be next to my name in my results.

xk08hxxi

My #ParkRun Buddies, Edgie & Paul B,  were both absent today so I had to do it myself. I got there and had a chat with a few others and sounded out the general consensus of what was going on. I decided to start at the very back with Laura C & her 2 boys and take the run steady – didn’t last long as usual. Too many people in my way running slower than I expected so I just upped my pace a little bit to clear the pack.

I could see many others from the Widnes Running Club, wearing their Club Colours and the competitive side of me started to kick in. After 1 lap I had joined up with John T and he was aiming for a decent time – this gave me a chance to PACE him round and also for him to improve his own time this week. He said he did about 28mins last week and wanted to beat that – he smashed it by going sub27mins today – well done.

My official time was my 2nd fastest this year and I really felt good, even managing an increased pace/sprint for the last half lap or so. My time was recorded as being 25mins  30secs – without a good fast start. It became evident that I was doing a decent time after the 2nd lap and I just wanted to have a positive run today, once I started being competitive.  (In my mind I was running for #Rory & #Alfie – sharing my Strength & Determination with them in their first few days of being born.) I also finished 7th Fastest in my Age Category – without even trying too hard which pleased me even more.

Now that I have got myself into a reasonable level of fitness, I have registered for a number of other events over the next few months – 2 weeks today it will be:

cce296lxiaaggnr

~Then the Cheshire 10km in 6 weeks (12th Nov 2016)

cheshirelogonew

Followed possibly by the Helsby Half Marathon in January 2017

helsbyroute

But I am sure that in between these events I will be doing a few others = definitely the local Santa Dash is on the cards, as that is always for charity. I may even get my ‘Bucket List’ target of 10 events this year – already on 6 completed with minimum of 2 others booked before the middle of November.

For the rest of tonight I am going to just chill and recover from the week’s efforts, both training and emotionally.

 

Leave a Reply

