Training Diary – Day 585

parkrun-logo

Yeah!!!   Parkrun Day …   Today it is fun day and one of the highlights of a busy week in school. I love doing the parkrun and visiting different parkruns around the area.

xk08hxxi

Today I became a fully paid up member of the Widnes Running Club – and we went on a #parkruntour to Croxteth ParkRun, as our local one wasn’t on today. Now need to get a Club colours running top to be recognised when doing my events. Those of us that turned up had an impact in the times and positions for the #CroxtethParkRun results – was a bit like a mini invasion by the Widnes Running Club members – posting some great times, New PBs and lots of improved positioning for Age-Categories too.

For me, today’s run was about ‘Pacing’ one of our members to a New PB – which she achieved and was well impressed. She also came 4th fastest in her Age-Cat. But because she improved her time, it meant I had to pace her quicker – that resulted in my time being the 13th fastest in my Age-Cat … so well done to both of us on that.

For the next few fews I am going to try and run a slower pace – 28mins to 30mins pace, in an attempt to improve my Half Marathon times. I am comfortable running at 6mins per km pace over the longer distance, but need to increase my endurance a little bit more. Not too much of a challenge if I run consistent times for 5km but not improve my HM time/PB.

My next event is a HM in 2 weeks time, but with a difference. So no time challenge on that one as it is more of an endurance challenge over & through Delamere Forest & Lake.

Leave a Reply

