Training Diary – Day 535

CRr1VsbU8AEeTSW

#DoubleTrainingSessions – Day 4 & 5

Well I was absolutely shattered after yesterday’s efforts and had a nap on the couch instead of updating this blog – hence a double entry in this one.

Session 1 – went for a 5km road run in the morning and then a few jobs to catch up with. Sub 28mins for the run, but it was meant as a sort of reduced effort attempt.

Road-Running-Races-1

After a short trip for another food shop and paying some bills, I managed to get a 30mins doze on the couch before the start of my next session – needed it too.

Session 2:  This was down to a change in my routine and my resulted are as follows:

It was Alison’s Circuit Training Session and she had a surprise installed for me – OUCH!!

peak24

Being my usual cheeky-chappie self I didn’t expect her session to be focused on LEGS – especially as I had spent the 7 previous sessions all working on my Cardio & Legs. Alison & Jody found it really funny watching me try my best on the Legs exercises and it just looked like I was running in treacle……  I even covered my face so not to show them I was suffering (and boy was I suffering.)

After the session I went and attended a meeting by the #Parkrun organisers – as they look to set up a #ParkRun in my local area. Think I might be getting ‘Roped’ into setting that up too.

I was looking at 259km Hill Climbing in 285mins today & almost 35k STEPS

Training Day 5 – Today was the hardest day of the whole week and I knew I had to give more than 100% if I was to achieve my targets. After an extra hour in bed this morning I went to the gym and met up with @JackieThain, one of the Lady runners from the #Shredders group. She was starting back on her journey into running, after having a short rest/recovery from her 1st Half-Marathon recently.

Static Bike – Alpine Pass Challenge in this session it was tough going – but I still beat yesterday’s results. In the 30mins Hill Climbing I completed 26.81km today, much better than yesterday. (I managed to do 204RPM for the last minute sprint challenge and was impressed with that too.)

Treadmill – Fitness Test.  I was able to complete this as my recovery session and my SubMax VO2 data was 63.7% – again not bad for my age band.

Static Bike – Random Hills.  This was a little bit more of a challenge again today – tiredness was setting in. I completed the 15mins period on L5 and that produced 12.27km too.

Session 2:  My target for the whole of the week was hanging on the effort I put into this last session.

Static Bike – Alpine Pass Challenge in this session it was tough going – but I still beat yesterday’s results. In the 30mins Hill Climbing I completed 26.34km today, much better than yesterday. (I managed to do 220RPM for the last minute sprint challenge and  that almost killed me.)

Treadmill – Fitness Test.  I was able to complete this as my recovery session and my SubMax VO2 data was 63.4% – again not bad for my age band.

Static Bike – Random Hills.  This was it – the last opportunity to beat my target. I had mentally calculated that I needed to do 15km as quickly as I possibly could if I was to achieve the 300km distance. Tiredness was setting in and I started to doubt myself – not about doing the 15km but to do it in a good time. I completed the 15km distance required on L5 and did it in 17mins.

So I did manage my Hill Climbing Challenge of 300km in a total time of 332mins, which was only 2mins slower than I had set myself. But to be fair I had set an extremely challenging target time. (I worked out that I did an average of 1min 6secs for each km throughout the challenge – Hill Climbing & on L5. Now that really does sound like and achievement when put into those terms.)

To end the week’s #FitBit STEPs Challenge too – I achieved several New PBs for the week – but the best one was averaging over 35k+ STEPS Daily. My total so far is 176K+STEPs

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

