Rehabilitation – Day 272

After all the excitement on Friday and the amazing news I received I did the only thing left for me to do – I had a weekend off…. yes you heard it – a whole weekend off to myself. Even more of a shock – I celebrated my birthday by having two beers too.  Oh the dangers of being a rebel!!

So that just left me with what to do today – gym or road run?

I text my mate PD (Edgie) and asked if he wanted to go for a road run again tonight – seen as he is supposed to be my ‘long lost training buddy’ and he said ok.

So off we went for a different run route – mainly flat but still had a gentle long rise before hitting a short section of a steeper climb. The distance was also slightly longer than last week so I was hoping to improve my time again. Tonight I managed 37mins 10secs – a little faster than last week but never the less an improvement of 15secs and a few 100m longer – so I’m pleased.

On another positive note – the 1st km and 2nd km where sub 7mins 20secs each. However the 3rd km was the slight rise and I managed 7mins 47secs for that one. The 4th km was 7mins 25secs and the 5th km was 7mins 04secs to finish off.

Road-Running-Races-1

So the end of tonight’s session was the usual Hot Lobster Bath to relax my aching leg muscles. I do actually feel much better this week after the run and that is a good sign for me. I will sleep well tonight when I go to bed in a bit, but will be a happy chap too.

Leave a Reply

